Resolutions Category

Resolution Supporting President Trumpís Decision Recognizing Jerusalem as the Capital of Israel

Resolution Supporting President Trump’s Decision Recognizing Jerusalem as the Capital of Israel was  sponsored by Virgin Islands GOP National Committeeman Jevon Williams was passed by the Republican National Committee today. This resolution sends a clear message to the nation and the world, that the Republican National Committee supports President Donald J. Trump's presidential proclamation recognizing Jerusalem as the capital of Israel and the directive given to the Department of State to prepare to move the United States Embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem.

The point must be further driven home, as a sovereign country, the United States will NOT be dictated to, and we are well within our right to determine where to establish our embassies and the exercise
of this right is also in the national interests and the security of the United States.

A copy of the resolution can be found here.

Posted on 02 Feb 2018, 13:01 - Category: Resolutions

National GOP calls for equal citizenship for U.S. territories

AUGUST 25, 2017 — In major news, national GOP leaders repudiated the unequal citizenship of Americans living in the country’s territories during a meeting of the Republican National Committee on Friday in Nashville.

The Republican National Committee did so with the passage of a resolution entitled “Affirming the Equal Citizenship for All Americans.” The resolution’s sponsor was the Virgin Islands’ national committeeman, Jevon Williams.

“The Republican National Committee calls upon Congress to ensure that American citizens residing in the territories of Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands have unfettered enjoyment of their American citizenship, including the Second Amendment of the United States Constitution,” stated the resolution.

“All Americans must be able to enjoy the full benefits of their citizenship,” said Williams, who serves in the Virgin Islands Army National Guard. “For too long, Washington has ignored Americans in the territories, a disproportionate number of whom wear the uniform defending the freedoms and liberties that define us as Americans, including basic constitutional rights that are wrongly denied to them.”

The resolution will now be sent to President Donald J. Trump, Interior Secretary Ryan Zinke, Speaker of the House Paul Ryan, and Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell. Americans in the territories are U.S. citizens, but they do not receive full enjoyment of their citizenship. 

* In addition to being denied both a vote for president and full congressional representation, not all provisions of the Constitution have been extended to the territories. The legal basis for two classes of U.S. citizenship derives the Insular Cases, a series of Supreme Court rulings dating to the late 1890s when some of the territories were first acquired.

The principal author of the Insular Cases legal doctrine was Justice Henry Brown, who also authored the high court’s notorious racist and pro-segregationist ruling in Plessy v. Ferguson.

All 56 states and territories are represented on the 168-member Republican National Committee by the party chairman, committeewoman, and committeeman.

A copy of the resolution can be found here.


* Editor’s note: American Samoa is the fifth territory, but American Samoans are U.S. nationals, not citizens.


Posted on 25 Aug 2017, 12:05 - Category: Resolutions

GOP honors first black congressmen and senators


A resolution, co-sponsored by Virgin Islands GOP National Committeeman Jevon Williams, honoring the country’s first black congressmen and senators was passed by the Republican National Committee today.

“The Republican Party has always been the party of opportunity and inclusion,” said Williams. “We were founded as the anti-slavery party in 1854.”

The resolution, which Williams co-sponsored alongside North Carolina GOP National Committeewoman Ada Fisher, honors Congressmen Robert B. Elliott, Robert C. De Large, Benjamin S. Turner, Jefferson F. Long, Joseph H. Rainey, and Josh T. Walls and Senator Hiram R. Revels—all of whom were elected from the Southern states after the Civil War.

The resolution also calls on the U.S. Postal Service to issue a Black Heritage series postage stamp in their honor.








Posted on 19 Jan 2017, 13:41 - Category: Resolutions

Pages: [1]


Political advertisement paid for and approved by Jevon Williams.
Campaign Websites by Online Candidate